Application process is now closed for 2023 Award.  Results coming soon



The ISDP now offers one visiting scholar grant award of up to $3,000.00 USD per year.  

This grant is made possible in part from the increased ISDP Sponsoring and Patron membership dues. 

The visiting scholar grant is intended to help defray the costs of tuition, travel and/or housing during a visiting observership of one month or more.  Applicants must be trainees or practitioners in dermatology or pathology who reside in a low or lower middle income country as classified by the World Bank list of economies. 

Additional criteria considered are the applicant's strong interest in the field of dermatopathology, and the anticipated positive impact from the applicant's learning experience on the field of dermatopathology in their country.

Below is the list of Visiting Scholar Grant Award recipients, sponsors and institutions.  Our thanks to each of them for their dedication to the field of dermatopathology, and for taking the knowledge gained from an ISDP meeting back to their home country to share with their colleagues.  

A list of several potential Dermatopathology Programs that currently accept visiting scholars can be found on the ISDP Website, under the "Links" tab. This is not intended to be a complete or up-to-date list; applicants are not limited to these institutions.

Our sincere best wishes!   

The Diana Baughman ISDP Visiting Scholar Grant Award Committee:

Tammie Ferringer, MD, Chair
Jacqueline Junkins-Hopkins, MD
M. Ramam, MD
Omar P. Sangüeza, MD



2022 Visiting Scholar

Dr. Santosh Upadhyaya Kafle
Birat Medical College and Teaching Hospital

Morang, Nepal

Sponsor / Sponsoring Institution:
Dr. Rossitza Lazova
California Skin Institute
San Jose, California, USA



2021 Visiting Scholar

Dr. Hadir Shakshouk
Alexandria University, Faculty of Medicine

El-Azarita, Egypt


Sponsor / Sponsoring Institution:
Dr. Alina Bridges
Richfield Laboratory of Dermatopathology at University of Cincinnati
Cincinnati, Ohio, USA


2020 Visiting Scholar 

Dr. Vaishali Masatkar
Ananta Institute of Medical Sciences and Research Centre

Rajasthan, India

Sponsor / Sponsoring Institution:
Prof. Omar Sangüeza, MD
Wake Forest School of Medicine
Winston Salem, North Carolina, USA


2019 Visiting Scholar 

Dr. Rajalakshmi Tirumalae, MD
St. John's Medical College
Department of Pathology
Bangalore, India

Sponsor / Sponsoring Institution:
Prof. Dieter Metze, MD
Klinik für Hautkrankheiten - Allgemeine Dermatologie und Venerologie
Münster, Germany